Photographs © Avigail Abarbanel

Lorna

Lorna preferred photo for FH site Lorna Gunn (b. 1957) 

Counsellor

BA(Ed.), COSCA Dip. Couns., Cert. Advanced Couns. Skills, Grad. Cert. Alcohol & Drug Abuse, Cert. Social Work

MBACP, MCOSCA

COSCA Accredited Trainer, Fellow Higher Ed Acad., SSSC Reg. Social Worker

Contact:

E:  lornagunn123@gmail.com
Ph: 07745 243 543

075755_print_logo (2)

About my work

Read about how I work.

General information

Fees

My fee is £50 per session. Payment is due at the end of each session payable by cheques or cash. I apologise but I don’t have card facilities at this point.

Sessions

My sessions are 90 minutes long. An hour and a half offers sufficient time for therapeutic processes to conclude naturally without needing to interrupt them artificially because the hour is over. An hour and a half also allows for proper closure, so that clients never leave sessions in a vulnerable state, but are able to ground themselves so that they can get on with what they have to do after the session.

I see clients at our Inverness counselling room on Monday – Friday in the evening and on Saturday mornings.

Cancellation Policy

I ask for 24 hours notice for cancellation or the full fee applies. This does not apply in the event of an emergency or illness.

About me

Professional background

I was born in Edinburgh in 1957 and moved to the Scottish Highlands in 1973. I started as a social worker in 1983 and worked for thirteen years with children, young people and families and then as a generic social worker. The next ten years saw me working for two years as a Welfare Rights worker with the Citizen’s Advice Bureau and then as a social work practice assessor.

Between 1997 and 2004 I managed Beechwood House in Inverness. As a result of my social work background and my work at Beechwood House, I realised I felt passionate about counselling and one-on-one work with clients. I could see how much benefit clients received from the experience of speaking to a skilled human being, and I wanted to be able to offer this to people. So in 2002 I began my  Counselling Skills training at Strathclyde Univesrity, which I completed in 2003. At the same time I also studied for my two-year Grad. Cert. in alcohol & drug abuse at Paisley University, which I also completed in 2003.

Following an accident, I made a career change in 2004 and was offered a position in Inverness College, UHI as a Lecturer. The college agreed to sponsor my continuing counselling education and in 2008 I enrolled to do the COSCA Diploma in Counselling and Psychotherapy at Moray College, which I completed in 2010. I have worked as a volunteer counsellor for five years for ACI (Alcohol Counselling Inverness). As part of my work as a Lecturer in Health, Social Care and Counseling at Inverness College UHI, I also work as a student counsellor at the Inverness College UHI Student Counselling Service.

What I love to do as a therapist

I offer counselling to adult individuals (18+) on a variety of life issues. In my private practice I do not work with individuals who are currently abusing drugs or alcohol. I can see people who have suffered from an addiction when they are already well into recovery, no longer abusing substances and have a wider, stable support network around them (see Important Note section on the Home page of this site).

I am passionate about human potential and about working with people to help them find a resolution to the difficulties that get in the way of their living a fuller life. Like most people my family of origin and I have suffered our share of personal tragedy and loss. It is because of my awareness of suffering and loss and my own personal journey that I know that therapy works. I feel deeply for people’s suffering and know how hard it can be to speak about painful feelings and experiences. So I feel the deepest respect for people who are prepared to speak to a counsellor, and am deeply motivated to joining and supporting them on this journey.

Personal interests

For many years I was involved in the Girls Guide movement both as a ‘Brown Owl’ and as a Guide. These years were filled with happy experiences and fits of laughter as we worked on our badges and challenges. These experiences added to the quality and richness of my life. I formed many friendships and relationships that are still part of my life now. Nowadays when I am not counselling or teaching, I enjoy being a wife, mother and a grandmother. I love reading and learning, baking and spending time with my family and friends. I have a dog called Skye who uses up any free time I have left…

If you have any questions or want to know more about me and how I work please contact me.

 

Top of page